For Good + Deals, with Nick and Kristie
First Responder & Military Perks Finder

Veteran and military perks

Programs for veterans, retirees, Guard, Reserve and active duty.

15 listings. Each listing shows the date we last checked it (most recent 2026-10-21). See all.

Auto Ends 2026-12-31 Official page read in full Manual check needed

Ford tire discount for first responders and military

$80 off four qualifying tires at participating Ford, Lincoln or Quick Lane locations through Dec 31, 2026.

FirefightersEMS (EMTs and paramedics)Police and law enforcement911 dispatchersVeteransActive duty, Guard and Reserve

What the official page says
  • Ford's program page says tires must be purchased and installed 1/1/2026 to 12/31/2026 at a participating Ford Dealer, Lincoln, or Quick Lane retailer.
  • You verify through ID.me to get a program-provided Hero Code, and give that code to the dealership to get the $80 discount.
  • The page says the same Hero Code can be used twice per calendar year.

Verification: ID.me (Hero Code) · Ends: 2026-12-31

Official source: Ford tire discount program

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-17. Manual check needed: not re-checked 2026-10-21 because this site is not cleared for automated reads (terms not yet reviewed); a person must re-read it in a normal browser. Ends 12/31/2026 per the last read, so confirm before you rely on it.

Gear & apparel Official page read in full Manual check needed

Oakley Standard Issue

Direct-rate Oakley eyewear and gear for qualifying military, federal and state/local law enforcement, fire and EMS personnel.

FirefightersEMS (EMTs and paramedics)Police and law enforcementVeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveRetired responders

What the official page says
  • Oakley's qualifications page lists active duty, veterans, National Guard, reservists, Coast Guard, military retirees, federal law enforcement and federal fire/emergency response, and state and local law enforcement, fire and EMS personnel (ID verification).
  • You register for an Oakley Standard Issue account; the page does not state a discount percentage, so check the site for current pricing.

Verification: Account registration with ID verification · Ends: Not stated

Official source: Oakley SI: qualifications

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-17. Manual check needed: not re-checked 2026-10-21 because this site is stopped (site blocked our checker); a person must re-read it in a normal browser.

Verification hubs Official page, key details read: re-confirm before relying Manual check needed

ExpertVoice (Fire, EMS and first responder teams)

Free membership platform where verified members can access brand pro-program pricing.

FirefightersEMS (EMTs and paramedics)Police and law enforcementVeteransActive duty, Guard and Reserve

What the official page says
  • ExpertVoice's support pages describe joining the Military, Law Enforcement, or Fire/EMT/First Responder team and verifying by official email or by uploading proof.
  • Support text lists proof such as an unexpired ID, a recent pay stub, a signed Red Card, or an EMT certificate, and says review is generally within 24 to 48 hours (details summarized from search excerpt; confirm on their page).
  • Available brands and discounts depend on the team you are verified for.

Verification: Official email or document upload · Ends: n/a

Official source: ExpertVoice: Fire and EMS · ExpertVoice support: joining as military, law enforcement or fire/EMT

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Official support pages via search excerpt 2026-10-17; details to re-confirm. Manual check needed: not re-checked 2026-10-21 because this site is manual reads only (terms under review); a person must re-read it in a normal browser.

Verification hubs Lower confidence: confirm on the official page Manual check needed

GOVX ID verification

GOVX is a verification and discount service used by many outdoor, travel and gear brands.

FirefightersEMS (EMTs and paramedics)Police and law enforcementVeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveRetired responders

What the official page says
  • GOVX's support center documents GOVX ID and which groups it verifies. Which groups a given brand accepts is set by that brand, so check each offer.
  • See GOVX's support pages for the exact verification methods and groups.

Verification: GOVX ID · Ends: n/a

Official source: GOVX support: groups verified

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Link found via official support listing 2026-10-17; page text not read in full; LOWER confidence. Manual check needed: not re-checked 2026-10-21 because this site is stopped (site blocked our checker); a person must re-read it in a normal browser.

Events & outdoors Official page read in full

Free National Parks Military Pass

Free annual pass for current military and dependents; free lifetime pass for veterans and Gold Star families, covering federal recreation entrance and day-use fees.

VeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary familiesFamilies of fallen responders and service members

What the official page says
  • National Park Service: current US Armed Forces members and dependents can get a free Military Annual Pass; veterans (including National Guard and Reserves) and Gold Star Families can get a free Military Lifetime Pass.
  • In person it is free; the NPS page lists accepted IDs, including DoD ID, VHIC, Veteran ID Card, or a veteran designation on a state ID. Recreation.gov offers a free digital pass; mailed passes from the USGS Store have a $10 processing fee.
  • The passes cover entrance and standard day-use fees on lands run by NPS, BLM, Reclamation, Fish and Wildlife, Forest Service and Army Corps. They do not cover camping, tours, permits or concession fees.
  • The NPS page was last updated February 26, 2026.

Verification: Show ID in person, or online via Recreation.gov · Ends: Lifetime / annual

Official source: NPS: free passes for military, veterans, Gold Star families

Last verified 2026-10-21 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-21 (NPS page last updated February 26, 2026; no changes found).

Home & hardware Official page read in full Manual check needed

Lowe's military discount

10% off most full-priced eligible items for verified service members, veterans and enrolled spouses.

VeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary families

What the official page says
  • Lowe's page: anyone currently serving in or a veteran of the Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard, Space Force, NOAA, US Public Health Service Commissioned Corps or National Guard; dishonorably discharged veterans are not eligible.
  • Verification is through ID.me with a MyLowe's Rewards account; spouses must verify on their own account. In store, show your phone number and valid photo ID.
  • Lowe's says there is no annual maximum on savings, and the discount cannot be used on sale items, major appliances, certain commodities (such as dimensional lumber and electrical wire), gift cards or services.

Verification: ID.me · Ends: Lowe's may change or end it at any time

Official source: Lowe's: military discount

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-17. Manual check needed: not re-checked 2026-10-21 because this site is stopped (site blocked our checker); a person must re-read it in a normal browser.

Home & hardware Lower confidence: confirm on the official page Manual check needed

The Home Depot military discount

10% off select in-stock purchases for verified military members, veterans and eligible spouses.

VeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary familiesFamilies of fallen responders and service members

What the official page says
  • Home Depot's military page and corporate how-to describe a 10% military discount that requires enrolling and verifying (an excerpt says the current verification flow is ID.me; older materials mention SheerID).
  • An excerpt also notes a $400 per calendar year cap and exclusions such as lumber, building materials, appliances, services and gift cards. Confirm the cap and exclusions on the page before relying on them.

Verification: Account enrollment and ID.me · Ends: Not stated

Official source: Home Depot: military discount · Home Depot corporate: how to claim your military discount

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Official page via search excerpt 2026-10-17; details to re-confirm; LOWER confidence on cap. Manual check needed: not re-checked 2026-10-21 because this site is stopped (site blocked our checker); a person must re-read it in a normal browser.

Housing & money Official page, key details read: re-confirm before relying

VA home loan benefit

Government-backed home loan benefit for eligible service members and veterans; start with a Certificate of Eligibility.

VeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary families

What the official page says
  • VA says you can request a Certificate of Eligibility (COE) online, through a lender, or by mail; a COE confirms service requirements but does not guarantee lender approval.
  • VA's purchase loan page says a VA-backed purchase loan can have no down payment if the price is no more than the home's appraised value. You still must meet VA and lender credit, income and occupancy requirements.
  • This is general information, not financial advice. Compare lenders and read VA's pages.

Verification: VA Certificate of Eligibility · Ends: n/a

Official source: VA: home loan eligibility · VA: purchase loan

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Official pages via search excerpt 2026-10-17.

Health & crisis support Official page read in full

Veterans Crisis Line

Free, confidential, 24/7 support: dial 988 then press 1, or text 838255.

VeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary families

What the official page says
  • The Veterans Crisis Line page says support is free, confidential and available 24/7, and that it can help even if you are not enrolled in VA benefits or health care.
  • Dial 988 then press 1. Text 838255 or use online chat. TTY: use your preferred relay service or dial 711 then 988.
  • The page lists separate overseas numbers by Department of Defense region.

Verification: None required · Ends: n/a

Official source: Veterans Crisis Line: call

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-17.

Health & crisis support Official page, key details read: re-confirm before relying

Military OneSource

Free, confidential 24/7 support for eligible service members and their families: 800-342-9647.

Active duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary familiesVeterans

What the official page says
  • Military OneSource's pages (summarized from search excerpts) describe free, confidential support for eligible service members and their immediate families, with counseling sessions available by phone, video, chat or in person.
  • Eligibility depends on service status, so check the eligibility page.

Verification: Eligibility check on their site · Ends: n/a

Official source: Military OneSource: eligibility · Military OneSource: connect

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Official pages via search excerpt 2026-10-17.

Benefits & survivors Lower confidence: confirm on the official page

VA toxic exposure screening (PACT Act)

VA offers a short toxic exposure screening to enrolled veterans; the PACT Act expanded VA benefits for exposures like burn pits.

Veterans

What the official page says
  • VA's fast-facts sheet (summarized from a search excerpt) says the screening takes about 5 to 10 minutes for veterans enrolled in VA health care, and that it is not a disability claim.
  • Start on VA's PACT Act page to see who may qualify and how to apply.

Verification: VA enrollment · Ends: n/a

Official source: VA: the PACT Act and your VA benefits

Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Official page title and excerpt 2026-10-17; details to re-confirm; LOWER confidence.

Housing & money Official page read in full

Free credit monitoring for active duty military and National Guard

Under an FTC rule, Equifax, Experian and TransUnion must offer free electronic credit monitoring to active duty military consumers; National Guard members are included.

Active duty, Guard and Reserve

What the official page says
  • The FTC's Military Credit Monitoring Rule page says the nationwide consumer reporting agencies must provide free electronic credit monitoring services for active duty military consumers. The rule implements a 2018 law that amended the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
  • The FTC's October 2019 press release says Equifax, Experian and TransUnion are providing the free service to active duty service members and National Guard members, and that you sign up on each credit reporting agency's website.
  • The FTC's 2019 consumer alert says the agencies must notify you by mobile app, email or text within 48 hours of material changes to your credit file, such as address changes, new negative information, credit limit changes of $100 or more, and new accounts opened in your name. It also says credit monitoring is not complete protection against fraud.
  • General information, not financial or legal advice.

Verification: Proof of active duty or National Guard status, as each credit agency requires · Ends: n/a (federal rule)

Official source: FTC: Military Credit Monitoring Rule · FTC press release (Oct 2019) · FTC consumer alert (2019)

Last verified 2026-10-19 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-19 (FTC rule page, press release and consumer alert).

Benefits & survivors Official page read in full

USERRA job protections for Guard, Reserve and returning service members

A federal law, USERRA, protects the civilian jobs of people who serve. The Labor Department's VETS office helps with claims, including for responders who serve in the Guard or Reserve.

Active duty, Guard and ReserveVeterans

What the official page says
  • The U.S. Department of Labor's VETS page says USERRA requires that returning service members be promptly re-employed in the same position they would have attained had they not been absent for military service, with the same seniority, status and pay.
  • VETS helps people with service-connected problems in their civilian jobs and says it has representatives in every state, plus Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The page links to filing a claim and to its USERRA Advisor.
  • The page says a 2022 law, the CREW Act, extended USERRA protections to FEMA reservists who deploy to major disaster sites.
  • One example on the page is an Army reservist on a city police force who missed promotional exams during active duty; the case ended in a settlement that included back pay. The page advises keeping copies of your orders, DD 214s, civilian pay stubs and employer correspondence.
  • General information, not legal advice.

Verification: Your military orders and service records (see VETS) · Ends: n/a (federal law)

Official source: U.S. Department of Labor VETS: USERRA

Last verified 2026-10-19 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-19.

Housing & money Official page read in full

Military Lending Act: 36% cap on most loans for active duty and families

A federal law caps most consumer loans and credit cards for covered active-duty service members and their spouses at a 36% Military Annual Percentage Rate, with other protections.

Active duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary families

What the official page says
  • The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's page says the MLA covers active-duty members of the Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard and Space Force, Reserves serving on active duty, National Guard members mobilized under federal orders for more than 30 consecutive days, their spouses, and sometimes their dependents.
  • Lenders can't charge more than a 36% Military Annual Percentage Rate (MAPR), which counts finance charges, credit insurance premiums, add-on products and fees such as application or participation fees. They also can't charge prepayment penalties, require arbitration or require a military pay allotment.
  • Covered: credit cards, payday loans, deposit advances, tax refund anticipation loans, vehicle title loans, overdraft lines of credit, installment loans (except auto loans) and some student loans. Not covered: home mortgages and other home loans, and auto or personal-property loans secured by what you are buying.
  • Loans taken out before active duty fall under a different law, the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. You can complain to the CFPB online or at (855) 411-2372, and a military legal assistance office can help with your situation. The page was last modified Sept. 8, 2025. General information, not legal or financial advice.

Verification: Lenders check covered-borrower status; no application needed · Ends: n/a (federal law)

Official source: CFPB: Military Lending Act

Last verified 2026-10-21 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-21.

Benefits & survivors Official page read in full

Priority of service at American Job Centers for veterans and eligible spouses

Veterans and eligible spouses get priority of service in U.S. Labor Department-funded job training programs, including at the nationwide American Job Center network.

VeteransMilitary families

What the official page says
  • The Labor Department's Employment and Training Administration page says it has put priority of service for veterans and eligible spouses in place in all qualified job training programs, and that services reach veterans through more than 2,400 American Job Centers.
  • The page says the Jobs for Veterans Act (2002) set this priority for covered persons, meaning veterans and eligible spouses, including widows and widowers. The law defines which spouses are eligible.
  • To find an American Job Center, the page points to careeronestop.org or the toll-free line 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).
  • DOL's military spouse employment page tells military spouses to let the American Job Center representative know they are a military spouse, and says spouses who lost a job because of a military move may be eligible for dislocated worker funding.

Verification: Tell the American Job Center you are a veteran or eligible spouse · Ends: n/a (federal law)

Official source: U.S. Department of Labor ETA: Veterans · DOL VETS: military spouse employment

Last verified 2026-10-21 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-21 (DOL ETA veterans page and DOL VETS military spouse employment page).

AdvertisementAdvertisement placeholder: this space is available for a sponsor. No sponsor is shown here yet. Advertise here

Advertisers do not review, change or pay for our listings, dates or their order.